Basement and Radon Specialists
 
A Healthy Basement Company Serving Hendersonville, Asheville, NC & Greenville, Spartanburg, SC
 
Free Estimates!
Click or Call Now
828-759-5522

Job Completion Survey

We send a job completion survey to each customer after project completion. If customers give us permission to publish the reviews, we post them on this page.


Clear Filter
Chris M
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Dec 12th, 2017
William G
Brevard, NC
5 Stars
Dec 6th, 2017
Matt M
Flat Rock, NC
5 Stars
Dec 6th, 2017
Thank you for your flexible schedule! I had to postpone several times their services while I was rehabbing my new home. They were very efficient, clean, and happy to answer any questions I may have,. Highly recommend!!!
Jan W.
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Dec 6th, 2017
I feel fortunate that I was referred to Basement and Radon Solutions. Thanks for your personal attention to my home.
Steven C
Etowah, NC
5 Stars
Dec 6th, 2017
Rod and his team always do a beautiful job.
AS
Flat Rock, NC
5 Stars
Dec 5th, 2017
BRS provided quality workmanship and materials. They were very flexible. They worked WITH the customer / me, keeping me informed, talking over alternatives, and educating me as the work progressed. I recommend BRS to anyone needing radon remediation / basement services. Good, helpful people to work with.
Charlie F
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Dec 5th, 2017
Everything about Basement & Radon Solutions mitigation of our basement radon problem was a 10! They reduced our reading from 19 pCi/L down to 2 pCi/L. We loved their service, their work, their cleanup and the price. HIghly recommend them!
Bryan B.
Weaverville, NC
5 Stars
Dec 5th, 2017
Very responsive, quick to schedule an appointment, and fast and thorough work. Excellent company! I would absolutely recommend them.
Douglas S
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Dec 5th, 2017
From our first phone to the mitigation process, we could not have been more pleased! These professionals conducted all tests, answered all our questions, and completed the mitigation process with better success than we had hoped for! They always showed up at scheduled times. We HIGHLY recommend this company thumbs up!!
Ashley
5 Stars
Dec 4th, 2017
Kimberly C.
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Sep 5th, 2017
Thank you! We appreciate the outstanding customer service in performing the radon test. We highly recommend you for future tests for others. Thanks again!
William C.
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Aug 24th, 2017
Melissa K.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Aug 12th, 2016
The appointment was scheduled quickly and at my convenience. Mr. McCall looked at my basement and took a few moisture/humidity readings. He determined what the problem was and explained that while his company could install a drain from the interior, he felt that I needed to address some issues on the exterior to determine if that would solve my moisture problem. If his suggestions don't work, I will call him to install the drain system he described. What a pleasure to not be sold I product I might not even need as some contractors would try to do.
Susan S.
Fletcher, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Mar 2nd, 2016
They were very prompt in responding to my call and always showed up on time. They provided a
detailed quote prior to performing the work. Although their quote was not the least expensive, I decided
to have them do the job because of their knowledge and professionalism.
Jack M.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Oct 9th, 2015
I had conducted both a short test (First Alert) and a 6 month long alpha track test (AccuStar) to determine the level of radon present in the finished below-grade room of my house. Both test results showed that the radon level was elevated significantly above the EPA's maximum safe level of 4.0 pCi/L ( the short test indicated 8.2 and the long test was 7.1).
Based on Angie's List reviews and the recommendation of a neighbor, Basement and Radon Solutions was selected to provide a quote for a mitigation system. Following a visit to my home, Stanley provided several choices for the location of the system. After discussing the pros and cons of each option with Stanley, a solution was chosen which provides effective mitigation and minimal visual impact.
Stanley and his assistant, Roy, were very punctual and did a very professional and neat installation. Stanley explained his work to me at every step of the way. Stanley then set up his radon detector to determine the level of effectiveness of the system. The reading taken after several days of testing was below 1 pCi/L, much lower than the EPA's danger point. The system reduced my radon level to one eighth of the level that was present without the system.
Richard F,
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Sep 24th, 2014
Provider was prompt and provided and gave advice . did not remediate-- saved us money by telling
us what to do!!! I would recommend this provider to others.
Alston K.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Jul 21st, 2014
Rod was on time, very professional and full of helpful ideas that would not bring him more money. After inspecting the basement he thought my problems began outside and found the problem spots and offered solutions along with new ideas which should lead to a dry basement. I thank him for his generous time in aiding me without even needing his services. If I do need him in the future I will not hesitate to call.
Carol R.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Jun 25th, 2014
As far as I am concerned, Basement & Radon Solutions is the 'go-to' source for basement/crawlspace problems. He inspected the crawlspace of a house I was buying. He did a thorough job, extending to the external factors like slope of the driveway. He provided a written report that was excellent. So professional and knowledgable. He took the time to speak to the seller upon their request, to make recommendations that satisfied both sides. I would use Rod's service anytime!
Gloria S.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Jun 10th, 2014
The work performed by Mr. Johnson went superbly. It was totally worth what I paid and I am very pleased.
Mr. Johnson answered all of my questions and even offered helpful information that I, as a homeowner (or any homeowner), would need to know to maintain the health of the crawlspace and navigate it if needed.
Mr. Johnson could have just done the inspection and reported his findings but he took the time to answer extra questions and even took a look at my home's structural appearance, seeing if everything was intact, and emphasized how important it is to maintain the gutters because allowing the gutters to get filled with debris, leaves and other matter can cause localized flooding patterns which can translate into a flooded crawlspace. I am truly happy with his honest approach.
Additionally, within a short time of purchasing my special offer through Angie's List, I was contacted by the office manager, Brenda, to set up the appointment. They were able to fit me into the time slot I had requested. I loved that this business was flexible, responsive, knowledgeable and professional!
I have found my crawlspace/foundation specialist! Thank you, Basement and Radon Solutions!
Andrea A.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Oct 29th, 2013
Absolutely would use this service again!
I did not feel pressured to purchase more than I could really afford.
The owner (in person) and his wife (on the phone) were exceptionally easy to deal with.
The crew who came to do the actual installation were friendly, neat and punctual.
My basement has been quiet and dry ever since.
Love these guys!
Margery K.
Asheville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Oct 7th, 2013
It was a long process... over three months... but that was because I had to have several things done before they could do their work. I had to move my hot water heater and have a cinder block wall built to contain the dirt walls which were starting to fall in due to all the rain we have had this year. I also decided to replace all of the furnace duct work because I have an old house and it needed to be done anyway at some point. We also had several out-of-town trips to schedule around.
Once they came, however, the team of three got right to work pouring concrete, installing the sump pump, putting in the baseboard system of collecting water, putting down the vapor barrier and installing the dehumidifier. I was very impressed with how respectful they were and how one member of the team even cleaned up the mess the block worker had done to my mulch outside six weeks before! They also hauled away the pallets left by the block worker.
They were very good about staying in touch with me if they were running a little late, which happened occasionally due to traffic. The pump on the dehumidifier malfunctioned and they came out right away to replace it. We have yet to have a huge downpour but I feel confident that if I have any problems or questions, they will come and make it right. I highly recommend them to anyone who is having problems with water in the basement or cellar.
John W.
Clyde, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Sep 13th, 2013
Rod Johnson, the President of Basement & Radon Solutions, came out to inspect our crawl space. Because of all the rain and some new cracks in our living space dry-wall, we scheduled an appointment for Basement & Radon Solutions to come out. I didn't expect the President, but was pleased to see his hands on approach. In short, he inspected my crawl space and reported it to be in excellent condition, dry with no damage to the foundation. He explained some of the reasons for the cracked dry-wall and left me with his card if we needed any of his services at a future time. It was a very pleasant experience all the way around.
Donna M.
Waynesville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Sep 13th, 2013
Met with rep from above company on September 13 at the house near Lake Junaluska. Arrived promptly on time. I knew I had a really bad situation as the house was over 100 years old and it was probably going to be more expensive to fix the wet basement than I could afford. However, I was given many good suggestions as to what I could do without spending the $8-10 thousand dollars it would take to completely fix the problem. I was shown photos of work Basement and Radon Solutions had done on other properties and I was impressed. I chose to do the things I was advised might help the situation, as I would not be able to afford the "total fix." I was very impressed with the knowledge, patience, and professionalism of the representative who came.
Katie H.
Asheville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Aug 17th, 2013
We were really happy with the company and their work. The estimate process was simple and the cost was very reasonable, especially considering the cost of the dehumidifier alone is over $1000. The cost included radon piping and the concrete pouring, neither of which we were specifically looking for. They also gave us helpful advice about other work we might want to have a plumber do in our basement in the future, and pointed out some downspouts that needed work because they were draining into the foundation and contributing directly to the moisture problem.
On the day the work was scheduled, the team of 3 people showed up promptly and got right to work. It actually took a day and the next morning to complete, but everything looks great. They installed the dehumidifier so that it is suspended from the ceiling of the space. Everything was done according to what we had discussed and the equipment is functioning well. We'd use this company again in a heartbeat!
Debbie A.
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
May 28th, 2013
We were purchasing this property and on inspection it was noted that evidence of moistuire was seen in the crawl space. Basement and Radon Solutions was one of three recommendations we were given to give us furthur info on the situation. From my initial contact with owner Rod Johnson I felt assured that I had picked a top performing company. His family was off on vactionion in a few days from my intial contact but knowing the urgency of the situation he arranged to get the project moving and promised to keep in touch even during his vacation. He inspected the property and gave me a detailed expalnation of the situation and how he felt it needed to be repaired. No high powered sales pitch or doom and gloom scares. A local builder had also given a plan and estimate on repairing the situation. I confered with him regarding his plan and that of Basement Solutions, when all was said and done he said if he were buying the house he would use BS's plan. Although it was more expensive than his he felt it was a much better long term solution. That solidified my opinion and I contracted with Rod to do the job. The work was done on time and as described. I have NO complaints and feel that the job was done right and is back up by a top notch company.
Joanne E.
Flat Rock, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
May 8th, 2013
It took two men all day to do the work which was quite extensive. Both men were efficient, polite and extremely helpful with all my questions. My basement was thoroughly cleaned of all debris by the men. I was told they would come back to test the system as the fittings needed to dry thoroughly. They were back 4days later, tested the system and made sure all water was wiped up from the testing
Jane C.
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Apr 25th, 2013
I have an investment property and was concerned about the vapor barrier in the crawl space. I contacted Basement & Radon Solutions, spoke with Brenda and they responded quickly, went to the property a few days later and called me after the onsite inspection. I found Rod to be wonderful! He walked me through the situation in the crawl space saying the barrier looked fine as is. We discussed radon and I will have him do the testing. They are professional and very informative. I would highly recommend the company to anyone and know I would be proven right.
Leslie D.
Asheville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Oct 1st, 2012
Basement & Radon Solutions trenched and installed drains in our leaking basement. A sump pump and a water vapor barrier was installed. We have a 1920's era house and have had problems with flooding since we bought it. It has rained hard twice since we had the work done, and it seems to be working out great. Rod was quick getting back to us and gave us a very reasonable estimate. We got several other estimates and Basement & Radon Solutions estimate was by far the most affordable. They scheduled us in without a long wait and worked around our time frame. On top of that they were the most professional of the companies we interviewed. They gave us a price and stuck to it. They told us how long it would take and finished on time. We would highly recommend this company.
Karen J.
5 Stars
Posted on Home Advisor
Jul 7th, 2011
Very helpful and friendly. Our problem turned out to be small, so we were told how to fix it simply ourselves...no charge for consultation.
Jean H.
Hendersonville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Jun 24th, 2011
Everything, even the clean up was an A+. They were also very prompt. Everything they did was just
great, you couldn't even tell that they had been there. Once they got into difficulties, they stayed until
late at night to get the job done.
unknown
5 Stars
Posted on Home Advisor
Jan 2nd, 2009
I wanted very pleased. He put in a bigger (radon) fan, as I had asked. He did a good job.
Kim A.
Waynesville, NC
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Nov 30th, -0001
Checked area - gave consult of what needed to be done - did not encourage expensive solutions
but gave advice to the extent that the crawl space needed updating. Basically an advisory inspection.
Punctual, friendly and knowledgeable.
Joe M.
5 Stars
Posted on Angie's List
Nov 30th, -0001
They did an excellent job, were very professional, finished when they said they would, and showed
up on time. i was very pleased.

Page: 1
Basement & Radon Solutions Reviews
5 Stars
5.00 out of 5 stars based on 33 customer reviews.

Review Central